WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 8-K

                                 CURRENT REPORT
                     PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D) OF THE
                        SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

        Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported):  May 19, 2010

                               GERON CORPORATION
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

          Delaware                       0-20859                 75-2287752
(State or other jurisdiction     (Commission File Number)      (IRS Employer
      of incorporation)                                     Identification No.)

                             230 CONSTITUTION DRIVE
                          MENLO PARK, CALIFORNIA 94025
          (Address of principal executive offices, including zip code)

                                 (650) 473-7700
              (Registrant's telephone number, including area code)

         (Former name or former address, if changed since last report)

Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to
simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the
following provisions:

[ ] Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR

[ ] Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR

[ ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange
    Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))

[ ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange
    Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Item 5.02     Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors;
              Appointment of Certain Officers; Compensatory Arrangements of
              Certain Officers.

     On May 19, 2010, the Board of Directors (the "Board") of Geron Corporation
(the "Company") appointed Hoyung Huh, M.D., Ph.D., and Robert J. Spiegel, M.D.,
to the Board, effective immediately. Dr. Spiegel fills a vacant Class I Board
position, expiring at the Company's 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders. Dr. Huh
fills a vacant Class II Board position, expiring at the Company's 2013 Annual
Meeting of Stockholders.

     There is no arrangement or understanding between either of Drs. Huh or
Spiegel and the Company, pursuant to which he was selected as a director.

     In connection with Drs. Huh and Spiegel's appointments, the Company granted
each of Drs. Huh and Spiegel a nonstatutory stock option to purchase 45,000
shares of the Company's Common Stock (the "First Option") as provided by the
Company's 2006 Directors' Stock Option Plan (the "Directors' Plan") at an
exercise price equal to $5.29 per share, the closing sale price of the Company's
Common Stock as reported on the Nasdaq Global Market on May 19, 2010 (the "Grant
Date"). Each First Option shall have a maximum term of ten (10) years measured
from the Grant Date, and shall vest and be exercisable in a series of three (3)
equal consecutive annual installments on the anniversary of the Grant Date,
commencing on the Grant Date, provided the director continues to provide
services to the Company through the applicable vesting date. Drs. Huh and
Spiegel each will also receive cash compensation for their services as
non-employee directors as described under "Compensation of Directors" in the
Company's definitive proxy statement as filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission on March 29, 2010.

     Also on May 19, 2010 as announced previously, Patrick J. Zenner, a member
of the Board and the Compensation Committee, retired as a member of the Board
and Compensation Committee.


     Pursuant  to  the  requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the
registrant  has  duly  caused  this  report  to  be  signed on its behalf by the
undersigned  hereunto  duly  authorized.

                                            GERON CORPORATION

Date: May 20, 2010                          By: /s/ David L. Greenwood
                                                David L. Greenwood
                                                Executive Vice President and
                                                Chief Financial Officer