Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934



Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): July 22, 2015




(Exact name of registrant as specified in charter)




Delaware   1-16789   04-3565120
(State or Other Jurisdiction
of Incorporation)


File Number)

  (IRS Employer
Identification No.)

51 Sawyer Road, Suite 200, Waltham, Massachusetts 02453

(Address of Principal Executive Offices) (Zip Code)

(781) 647-3900

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):


  ¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


  ¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


  ¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

Alere Inc. (“Company”) held its 2015 Annual Meeting of Stockholders (“2015 Annual Meeting”) on July 22, 2015. Set forth below are the final voting results from the 2015 Annual Meeting. Ten directors were elected, and each other matter submitted to stockholders was approved.

1. Election of Directors. Each of the following ten director nominees were elected by a majority of the votes properly cast at the 2015 Annual Meeting as directors for terms expiring at the Company’s next Annual Meeting of Stockholders, or until his or her successor has been duly elected or appointed: Gregg J. Powers, Håkan Björklund, Geoffrey S. Ginsburg, Carol R. Goldberg, John F. Levy, Brian A. Markison, Thomas McKillop, John A. Quelch, James Roosevelt and Namal Nawana


Director Nominee

   Votes For    Votes Against    Abstentions    Broker Non-Votes

Gregg J. Powers

   72,882,237    291,889    9,823    7,390,665

Håkan Björklund

   47,784,017    25,390,469    9,463    7,390,665

Geoffrey S. Ginsburg

   73,066,989    107,790    9,170    7,390,665

Carol R. Goldberg

   68,407,835    3,625,395    1,150,719    7,390,665

John F. Levy

   68,038,400    3,993,935    1,151,614    7,390,665

Brian A. Markison

   66,478,354    6,697,350    8,245    7,390,665

Thomas McKillop

   68,105,032    3,928,447    1,150,470    7,390,665

John A. Quelch

   72,772,916    402,360    8,673    7,390,665

James Roosevelt, Jr.

   72,910,073    265,203    8,673    7,390,665

Namal Nawana

   72,987,075    187,128    9,746    7,390,665

2. Approval of increase to the number of shares of common stock available for issuance under the Alere Inc. 2010 Stock Option and Incentive Plan by 7,000,000, from 9,153,663 to 16,153,663 and to decrease the fungible share counting ratio from 3-to-1 to 2-to-1.


Votes For


Votes Against




Broker Non-Votes

63,761,171   8,270,228   1,152,550   7,390,665

3. Ratification of the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for our fiscal year ending December 31, 2015.


Votes For


Votes Against




Broker Non-Votes

79,959,083   602,748   12,783  

4. Advisory vote on executive compensation.


Votes For


Votes Against




Broker Non-Votes

52,783,127   19,239,088   1,161,734   7,390,665


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Date: July 23, 2015 By:

/s/ Jay McNamara

Jay McNamara
Senior Counsel, Corporate & Finance